abstract road

Were you Charged with an LSD Crime in Florida?

Were you Charged with an LSD Crime in Florida?

Posted By Parks & Braxton, PA || 26-May-2016

According to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, at least six percent of Americans have tried LSD, with 1.6 percent of those people having taken the drug within the past year. Manufactured from a substance called ergot, which is found in a grain fungus, LSD (lysergic acid diethylamide) is a hallucinogenic drug that comes in a variety of forms. It can be sold as a capsule, tablet, liquid, microdot, or soaked into blotter papers. Popular especially among young adults, LSD is expressly illegal.

LSD is federally classified as a Schedule I controlled substance, which means that there are no recognized medical uses for this drug and the potential for abuse is considered high. As such, the government has declared that possessing, selling, or even just intending to sell is a criminal offense.

Penalties for Possession of LSD in Florida

In Florida, possession of less than one gram of LSD is punishable by up to five years in prison and a two year driver’s license suspension. Possession of more than one gram (but less than 4.99 grams) can come with a sentence of between three and 30 years in prison. Possession of five to 6.99 grams has a minimum prison sentence of seven years and a fine of $100,000. More than seven grams could land a person in prison for a minimum of 15 years and a fine of $500,000.

The penalties for LSD-related drug crimes are steep. If you have been arrested and accused of possessing or selling LSD, you need a trustworthy, seasoned, and aggressive lawyer on your side to help you fight your charges. The Fort Lauderdale criminal attorneys at Parks & Braxton, PA are former prosecutors with decades of combined experience. We have handled thousands of criminal cases and know what it takes to secure the very best outcomes possible in drug crime cases. Do not delay in calling our firm to learn more about how we can help you.

To schedule a FREE and confidential consultation, call us 24/7 at (954) 519-2290.

Obtain Immediate Legal Help

To save your license, you must act within 10 days. Contact a partner about your case at (954) 519-2290 or fill out the form here.

Get in Touch Now