abstract road

Teacher Arrested with 53 Pounds of Marijuana in Car

Teacher Arrested with 53 Pounds of Marijuana in Car

Posted By Parks & Braxton, PA || 23-Aug-2012

An Elsik High School science teacher was caught with 53 pounds in of marijuana in her car today, giving a new meaning to the words "higher education." Percy Melton was pulled over for a minor traffic offense, but when the police began to issue her ticket, they noticed that she was acting strangely. The police asked if they could search her vehicle. She denied the request. The K-9 went to work and alerted the detectives that there was marijuana inside the car. A search revealed that Melton had 53 pounds of the illegal drug wrapped in cellophane, trash bags, and two duffel bags.

The Houston Chronicle writes that Melton was charged with possession of marijuana with the intent to distribute. She had about $120,000 worth of the drug in her car. She was taken to a local correctional center and her bond is still pending. The officials at the school where Melton works had not received any official confirmation that she was arrested, but they say that when it has been confirmed she will be placed on administrative leave.

In Florida, possession of less than 20 grams of cannabis is a First Degree Misdemeanor. This results in at least one year of probation, one year in jail, or up to $1,000 in fines. Anyone who has possession of over 20 grams of marijuana can be given five years or probation, five years in prison, or up to $5,000 in fines, These serious charges can come with a two-year drivers' license suspension. There are two types of drug possession that are evaluated in Florida. If the drug is found on your person, then it is considered actual possession. For those who have their drug stored in a place that is accessible to more than just themselves, the drug is considered to be in constructive possession. If you have been charged with possession in the Fort Lauderdale area, then talk to a lawyer at Parks & Braxton, PA for tough defense!

Categories: Drug Crimes, In the News

Obtain Immediate Legal Help

To save your license, you must act within 10 days. Contact a partner about your case at (954) 519-2290 or fill out the form here.

Get in Touch Now