DUI Penalties in Florida
Charged with a DUI? You Could Face Harsh Penalties
The penalties for
DUI convictions in Florida are some of the toughest in the country, and you
should never underestimate the serious nature of a DUI charge. In addition
to embarrassment, those who are convicted of DUI charges will also suffer
other consequences such as jail time, vehicle impoundment, fines and more.
Florida law states that a driver may be accused of a DUI (driving under
the influence) in two different ways. If the officer who arrests you can
prove that your normal faculties are impaired or if you have a blood or
breath alcohol level of 0.08% or above, you will be charged with a DUI.
From there, the legal process begins and the chance for penalties increases
dramatically. Without the help of a talented Fort Lauderdale criminal
defense attorney, you are far more likely to face the full force of the
penalties for your offense.
In order to make sure that your rights are protected throughout the entirety
of the DUI process, contact a Fort Lauderdale criminal defense attorney
immediately after you have been arrested. Once you are convicted, you
will have a permanent criminal record for the rest of your life, and you
may have to pay higher insurance premiums for years to come. The fines
for DUI convictions in Florida will range substantially based on your
previous DUI convictions, if any, and other various factors as well.
First DUI Conviction: Fines ranging from $500 to $1,000. The fines will be enhanced to a minimum
of $1,000 if you have a blood or breath alcohol concentration of 0.15
or higher or if there was a minor in your vehicle.
Second DUI Conviction: Fines ranging from $1,000 to $2,000. The fines will be enhanced to a
minimum of $2,000 if you have a blood or breath alcohol concentration
of 0.15 or higher or if there was a minor in your vehicle.
Third DUI Conviction within 10 Years: Maximum fine of $5,000.
Fourth or Subsequent DUI Conviction: Not less than $2,000.
Additional DUI Penalties in Fort Lauderdale, FL
No DUI charge is without defense, and with an experienced Fort Lauderdale
DUI lawyer you can avoid the other penalties under Florida Law for DUI
charges, like the ones listed below:
Community Service: Upon your
first DUI conviction you face a mandatory 50 hours of community service OR an additional
fine of $10 in lieu of each hour of community service required.
Probation: Upon your first DUI conviction you face a probation period that can last
up to one year.
Prison Time: These penalties will depend on the ruling of the court and may be substituted
for rehabilitation services instead. First conviction you wouldn't
face more than 6 months if your BAC was lower than .15. Second conviction
will get you no more than 9 months, but 12 if your BAC was higher than
.15. There are special regulations for those who have had multiple DUI
offenses within a five-year period.
Impounding Your Vehicle: Special provisions may be made for a "hardship license" if the
defendant has no other means of transportation, but a DUI conviction first
time will have your vehicle impounded for 10 days. Second conviction within
five years is a 30 day impoundment and third conviction within 10 years
is 90 days.
Contact a Skilled Ft. Lauderdale DUI Lawyer
At Parks & Braxton, PA, we have the experience needed to take your
DUI charges and the track record to back up our thousands of success stories.
Our superior legal team is comprised of a former prosecutor and attorneys
who are highly experienced in criminal law. Our firm is dedicated to the
art of defending a DUI case, and we will never stop short of a client's
expectations. With over 50 years of aggregate legal experience fighting
DUI charges, you can rest assured that your future is in the right hands.
Contact a Ft. Lauderdale DUI attorney
at our firm for a free consultation today. We are available to take your
call 24 / 7, on nights, weekends and holidays.